Author Topic: Lucha! question  (Read 2133 times)

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 692
  • +21/-4
    • View Profile
Lucha! question
« on: September 11, 2015, 04:54:59 PM »
Question: does Lucha's ace help sin cars bypass the "can only/must be played after..." text on the high risk maneuver?

If it is, does that work for similar abilities like New Age Outlaws and Mr Perfect's ability who self blank their maneuvers? Because if I remember correctly, it was previously answered that they need to have their legality of the card played checked first before it is blank.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2015, 08:18:48 PM by CreedP »

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10720
  • +319/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual 7 Preview Thread
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2015, 07:14:03 PM »
Lu-cha! x4 doesn't help Sin Cara play anything. It just lets High Risks that he'd already be able to play benefit from Drawing a Blank.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 692
  • +21/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual 7 Preview Thread
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2015, 07:32:32 PM »
But drawing a blank only protects the blank card if it is the first card played, if the high risk still has to play after something else (usually). The protection doesn't seem to be working for majority of the high risks... Or am I missing something?

Offline niiiiick

  • Posts: 989
  • +16/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual 7 Preview Thread
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2015, 07:42:11 PM »
But drawing a blank only protects the blank card if it is the first card played, if the high risk still has to play after something else (usually). The protection doesn't seem to be working for majority of the high risks... Or am I missing something?

If it blanks it, then you don't have the play requirement on the high risk meaning he can play it right away

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 692
  • +21/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual 7 Preview Thread
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2015, 07:59:13 PM »
Lol. Niiiick, Daeva just mentioned that Lucha doesn't help sin cara play anything. Hence, the requirement still has to be met.

Offline niiiiick

  • Posts: 989
  • +16/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual 7 Preview Thread
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2015, 08:06:13 PM »
Lol. Niiiick, Daeva just mentioned that Lucha doesn't help sin cara play anything. Hence, the requirement still has to be met.

How doesn't it though? I guess I must be missing something, it's ace allows you to discard to make the HR blank...am I misunderstanding it?

Do you have to attempt the maneuver first before it's considered blank? Meaning you still have to meet the requirement?

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 21447
  • +494/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual 7 Preview Thread
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2015, 08:09:55 PM »
As Daeva said, yes.  It's in the Timing Breakdown if you need more details, but essentially?

1) Can the card leave your hand to attempt being played?  If there's a requirement you haven't met, then no.
2) Now that your card is being played, you can apply any 'when played' benefits, which in this case will blank the card.

CREED
"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline niiiiick

  • Posts: 989
  • +16/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual 7 Preview Thread
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2015, 08:14:11 PM »
Ok, so it will mainly work with drawing a blank and a HR that can be played as a counter or one that doesn't have a play requirement

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 21447
  • +494/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Lucha! question
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2015, 08:19:20 PM »
Split off the rules question into it's own topic, so as not to take away from the Preview thread.  I think we've covered the rules question, though, how you choose to use it is up to you.

CREED
"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10720
  • +319/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Lucha! question
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2015, 08:21:26 PM »
It also helps with High Risks that have negative text, like Knee Smash, Leg Drop, Suicide Plancha, etc.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 692
  • +21/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Lucha! question
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2015, 08:24:41 PM »
It also helps with High Risks that have negative text, like Knee Smash, Leg Drop, Suicide Plancha, etc.

Really? Do Ppl still play them?

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 21447
  • +494/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Lucha! question
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2015, 08:31:41 PM »
That's kind of the point, but again, the rules question has been answered.  One more time, how you choose to use the effects of the card is up to you.

Rather than continuing repeating the same statements, it's time to lock this, sorry.

CREED
"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard